Skip to content

Categories:

A great day

A great day

 

The day before yesterday was a very important day: I managed to do my first interview and the Frente Popular Garage – RJ (FIP for simplicity) has agreed to participate/help me with my research.

The interview lasted about an hour. I had an interesting and fruitful discussion with a lawyer who closely follows the movement. Prior to the interview I had prepared my nice list of questions and I also managed to do them all but the debate moved in a direction not foreseen that I did not expect. Obviously it is not the first time and not the last of the things that goin an unforeseen direction.

That night I attended the meeting, the weekly plenary, of the FIP. It was not my first meeting, I had already attended some interventions, and participants already knew me. At the beginning of the meeting I made ​​a speech talking about the banner/statement that the Solidarity and Action Mobilization with Brazil Activists – Leeds (UK) (SAMBA_Leeds SAMBA_Leeds (UK)) group did at the University of Leeds in solidarity with the political arrests in Brazil of these last few weeks. I also introduced my research, asking to interview some people and proposing to build, collectively, a small book that explains the history, internal organization and the thought of FIP on key themes. In the end, after a brief defence of my ideas, the project was approved unanimously, to my great delight. The idea of ​​having a public blog with my material proved to be spot on (especially the page about my research), so all interested persons can freely consult my documents.

Now my research proper begins in: I am no longer at the stage of only observing, searching and making contacts but I am working on production of material. However, every day there is an activity in which I (must) participate and the time that remains for me to think about the research, process documents and relax is very little: it will be a very busy and intense time.

PS: a couple of weeks of intended activities remain to be covered to be recounted on the blog, I hope to be able to do so soon.

Posted in General.