Skip to content

Categories:

Antonio Negri’s conference with dress code

Today I was planning to go to a speech of prof. Antonio Negri, famous Italian Marxist philosopher. I never had the chance to attend one of his speech and, despite political differencies, I was very excited to have the chance to hear him live. Moreover, I was aware of a critical description of one of his speech by David Graeber and I was curious to see what would happen.
I saw the advertisement of the event at the beginning of this week and I had to postpone a previously scheduled meeting with prof. Marcelo Lopes de Souza (thank you!). Furthermore I had to register on the website of the holding institution but because i do not have the Brazilian tax code I could not end the procedures… then I sent some emails and it was granted that I had the right to attend the conference (even if without the right to obtain a certificate of attendance).
Today, the big day. I found it hard to get up because yesterday night I attended a public assembly in Cinelandia and then a public DIY event in the same square organized by Rafuko, I was also in. doubt to assist the event streaming online but then I Decided to go: it is much better to hear and speak to people the chance to have a chat afterwards is proceless.
I got on my bicycle, ride it for 15 mintrough the crazy morning traffic of Rio de Janeiro, arrived in Saens Pena square totally wet, Took the metro for 30 min to Cinelandia and other 15 min walking from there.
Finally arrived at the Palace of Justice, the place of the conference.
At the entrance two employees (and a metal detector) are waiting for me: a lady at the counter and a man who played with truncheon. As soon as they see me mocking smile, for a reason that will become obvious in a few seconds: you can not enter the building in shorts (which I carry). Frankly I fall from the clouds, do we really need a dress code to enter to hear a lecture by Toni Negri, one of the gurus of the anti-capitalist movement?! Nothing to do, I cannot enter, at some point they even laugh to me because I am “gringo”, a stranger. Sadly, I go back home, the same die: walking street, subway, bike. (I have the opportunity to watch live online last part of the discussion of the questions before the direct interrupts)

Some of my considerations. I think it is absurd that for a conference of one of the gurus of the anti-capitalist and anti-globalization movement is necessary to have a dress code! (in addition, in none of the calls there was something written about it and today there are in Rio 30 ° C) Moreover, I would like to question the held to conduct this event in a space of the justice tribunal, the same tribunal that few days ago posponed the discussion to the freedom of a politician caught in events of October (Baiano) and it accomplice in the repression of social movements. We are criticizing the system living within the same system, the contradictions are certainly developed. I do not know the terms of the coming of Negri in Rio de Janeiro, however, I think it would be possible to organize something in a space more “neutral” as a university (not to mention a space of the movement, like in Cinelandia, Aldeia, an occupation Sem -Teto, a union …). For the umpteenth time the academy has been isolated from social movements that studies and research and, sometimes, try to boost / denigrate / drive.
To date I am not aware (but I could be wrong) if he participates in some event of the movement (although I do not know how long he will stop in town), in any case, I take this opportunity to invite the prof. Antonio Negri to the event O dia a dia do racismo brasileiro (The everyday life of Brazilian racism), organized by the Assembleia Popular da Grande Tijuca, this Saturday at 5 pm in the Saens Peña square, where he will have a chance to participate in a popular initiative and make a speech.
To me, it remains for the rest of life the opportunity to joke, remembering the time when I was not accepted at a conference of Negri because I was dressed in shorts and T-shirt…

Posted in General.