Skip to content

Categories:

Back in Leeds, back to the office

Between the 29th and the 30th of January I flew from Rio back to Leeds. And on the morning of the 31st I was in a class, working as demonstrator…

The flight was good, I mainly slept all the time, even rejecting the food offered (and I finished the trip starving). I had no problems with luggage or any delay. When I arrived back at the Bradford-Leeds airport I took a taxi for my house in Leeds and watching out the window I was seeing the light of the various towns of the hills surrounding Leeds, remembering me the light of the towns in Friuli, my “motherland” that I start to miss.

Since when I arrived many things are crowding my mind. On one side there is the academic life and its’ commitments (analyzing my data, writing my thesis, demonstrating, etc.), on the other I still have to get use to the British life. I spend almost 9 months in Rio and I was used to different habits and I had a totally different network of friends/people. Here, we do not have daily march or assembly, I do not have to rush all the day long in various part of a big metropolis. Here we have 7°C … Moreover, there is a fundamental different lifestyle, people are “different”. One point is striking me: I live in one of the center of Capitalism that the movement in Rio heavily criticized, what should I do? I could I act inside the University? Questions that I had even before my fieldwork but that now are even more relevant.

 

Posted in General.