Skip to content

Categories:

for the future

Once I am back in Leeds I will have to elaborate my data ( a strange thing to call life experiences…) and write up my thesis but I just realized that I can continue to write the blog, inserting stories or analyses. The key point will be to have some “free” time to be dedicated to this; I am quite optimistic (when I am not?) but teaching commitment and working for my third and last phd’s year will, certainly, be quite influential. The idea is still the same: to use the blog as a showcase for my experiences and to present some ideas, just in an even more non-synchronized way.
This continuous problem of time reminds me how my supervisors and various teachers in my department struggle to find “time to do things”, inevitably having in the end to cut something or other out. This is certainly caused by the stringent university timing increasingly based on a capitalist mode for production of knowledge (“production” of articles, increased load of classes, etc.).

However, the problem that I am facing with my blog (my inability to follow up continuously with posts on what I am doing here in Rio de Janeiro), is related with a core aspects of research: it is really difficult (if not impossible) to write/produce something “live”, this is a role of the journalist. Researching is not only the action in “doing active research” but also reorganising all the various elements collected in to a cohesive story, that leads inevitably to telling a story that is already passed away… From here I have a question (nothing new but it is something that I really realising only now): how is research relevant for the movement that is moving so fast when our contribution from the academia could be relevant but surely out of date? I believe that only working closely with the movement can give a right answer to this question.

PS: looking forward to putting more photos (and also videos and audio!) on this blog, now I really have a considerable amount of material!

Posted in General.