Skip to content

Categories:

time is running out…

It’s been a long time since my last post and, much more important, many things have happened in Rio de Janeiro and in my research.

As I said previously, my plan was to write at least one post each week, about things happening or reflections on my research, but, now that there is less than one month to my departure back to UK, it is clear that this was an optimistic expectation. However, I realized why this was difficult to achieve and thankfully it was not laziness!

First of all, I realized that was difficult to report all the facts happenings in the daily life: Rio de Janeiro is truly in a Revolutionary time and every day there is something happening! Secondly, as time went on, my involvement as militant increased: I am, everyday, less an external observer and more a core militant. Thirdly, discovering new people and groups, my interest increased: there are so many things highly relevant for my research! (it is never enough and you always want to increase the interviews or data but even now I think to have enough material for 2 or 3 full PhD’s…).

To sum up, my time and energy are finite and I had to prioritise things: unfortunately the blog was not a top priority.

Since my last post many things have happened in Rio de Janeiro: the Black Prof’s demo, the first demo against the new increase of the ticket price, the first meeting of the FIP which was invaded by the riot police, the eviction of the Aldeia and the new indios’ fight to regain their space, the occupation of the UERJ, the daily effort in the encampment Occupy Aldeia, many meetings for organizing the activities, the collection of material necessities for flood victims and so on…

Regarding my research, I was able to do more interviews (thanks to the summer break), I took many photos, the work on the FIP’s book seems to be proceeding and there is a possible project with a new research group organized by social movements that it is very promising.

I think that this will be my last post for this year… happy new year to every one, may 2014 be full of news and changes!

Posted in General.